News Round-Up, February 2017

by | 23. Feb 2017

Article | News

February is the month of pavilions and in this news roundup we’re unveiling to you the announcements of both the Serpentine and MPavilion architects. There has also been some much needed recognition for one of the founders of Postmodernism, Denise Scott Brown and the winners of the fictional architecture competition, Fairy Tales has been announced. All this and more on this month’s News Round Up


Serpentine Pavilion 2017 designed by Francis Kéré

Diébédo Francis Kéré, the award-winning west-african architect, has been commissioned to design the Serpentine Pavilion 2017, responding to the brief with a bold, innovative structure that brings tropical inspired architecture to the lawns of Kensington Gardens.

Kéré, who leads the Berlin-based practice Kéré Architecture, is the seventeenth architect to accept the Serpentine Galleries’ invitation to design a temporary Pavilion in its grounds. Since its launch in 2000, this annual commission of an international architect to build his or her first structure in London at the time of invitation has become one of the most anticipated events in the global cultural calendar and a leading visitor attraction during London’s summer season.

See more images and read more about the pavilion’s concept here


Rem Koolhaas and OMA to design 2017 MPavilion

Dutch Architects Rem Koolhaas and David Gianotten of OMA have been commissioned to design the fourth iteration of MPavilion in Melbourne’s Queen Victoria Gardens. The MPavilion, which is similar in concept to London’s Serpentine Pavilion, aims to offer international architects commissions that have previously not built in Australia.

MPavilion is another addition to OMA’s folio of cultural projects, including Fondazione Prada in Milan, the  Garage Museum in Moscow’s Gorky Park, Casa da Musica in Porto, the Seattle Public Library – all which have become important civic centres and independent spaces for the public.

Previous architects include Bijoy Jain of Studio Mumbai (India) and Amanda Levete of AL_A (UK).

Read more about the MPavilion here

News_Round_Up_February-Denise Scott Brown.jpg

Denise Scott Brown awarded Jane Drew Prize 2017

Denise Scott Brown has been awarded the Jane Drew Prize 2017 for women in architecture. This lifetime achievement award recognises an architectural designer who through their work has raised the profile of women in architecture.

Scott Brown’s receipt of the prize is a culmination of a grassroots drive to see her contribution to the profession adequately recognised – a movement that sprung from the Women in Architecture campaign back in 2013. Scott Brown, who is seen by many as one of the founders of Postmodernism, co-authored the seminal book Learning from Las Vegas with husband and business partner Robert Venturi. In 1991, the Pritzker Prize then recognised him for his work but controversially not Scott Brown.

A petition to overturn this was launched after an address by Scott Brown at the 2013 Women in Architecture Luncheon, but the Pritzker would not backtrack on its earlier decision.

I was very touched by the Pritzker petition – and that is my prize in the end. 20,000 people wrote from all over the world and every one of them called me Denise.”  
/Denise Scott Brown

Read an interview with Denise Scott Brown here regarding the acceptance of the award.


Danish architect, Bjarke Ingels, to star in Netflix documentary on design

Netflix’s latest documentary series, Abstract: The Art of Design, takes viewers through the creative processes of eight of the most creative thinkers working in the world today.

Following in the same format of Netflix’s ongoing documentary series, The Chef’s Table, Abstract: The Art of Design will focus on a different designer each episode. Episode 4 has been dedicated to Danish architect, Bjarke Ingels, focusing on the lead up to the opening of his Serpentine Pavilion in London.


Winners announced of Fairy Tales competition 2017

Fairy Tales is a yearly fictional architecture competition run through the online platform, Blank Space. The purpose of the competition is to create entire worlds of the imagination, free from the boundaries of reality, that can communicate stories through the medium of architectural representation. Since starting in 2013, the competition has attracted thousands of participants, and winners have gone on to develop their stories into successful Kickstarter campaigns, short films, comic books, and exhibitions.

This year’s winner, Mykhailo Ponomarenko, was selected for his entry ‘Last Day’. The jury noted that his entry utilized classical painting techniques to create monumental landscapes with strange sci-fi megastructures inserted into them. The relatively mundane occurrences within the story made it feel like these wild scenes could in fact be real.

See more images from the winner and runners up here

Read a reflection of Blank Space by one of arcspace’s student writers here